The Sri Layan Sithi Vinayagar Temple has a long and rich history dating back to 1920.
Back then, the government first acquired the temple land, which was initially intended to be used as part of a hospital extension.
Sri Layan Sithi Vinayagar Temple, Timings & Opening Hours, Singapore
The Nagarathars added a new Vinyagar idol made out of black stone, which was imported from India. It was the main deity of the temple at the time, but the old Vinyagar statue was kept in the front as the sanctum’s main deity. A third Vinyagar statue was added, thanks to the donation of a Mr Pichappa Chettiar. Over the years, the temple underwent numerous renovations and adding of important elements; such as a tranquil inner sanctum, which is used for meditation.
Prayers from devotees of various beliefs are held throughout the day starting at 6:30am, and the temple closes at 8:30pm. The deities present in the temple include Lord Ganesha, Moolavar, Holy Vel, Shree Rama, Nagar, and Urchavar.
The main sanctum features the 3 Vinayagars, the Holy Spear, Naagar, and Rama Naamam.
From Thursdays to Sundays each week, visitors may be treated to the inspiring sight of devotees busy at work creating 108 Pragarams, or circles around the sanctum, which is done to fulfil their vows.