The Leong San Temple is a Chinese Buddhist temple that has been around since 1917.
It was established by the Reverend Chun Wu, who came to Singapore in 1913 carrying just a statue of the Goddess of Mercy, Guan Yin, and an urn.
Leong San See Temple, Buddhist, History, Opening Hours, Singapore
The current temple was erected in 1926 utilising building materials that were sent from China. Tan Boon Liat, a prominent businessman at the time and a generous philanthropist, also contributed to the building of the temple. Its new altar has an image of Confucius, whom many Chinese parents ask their children to pray to for filial piety and intelligence.
In the 1950s, there were plans to build another temple next to it, but Venerable Sek Kong Hiap realised that there was a bigger need for a school instead. By 1954, the Leong San School was built within the temple grounds and offered free Mandarin classes to students. Enrolment quickly grew and eventually the school, renamed Mee Toh School, was built within it. By 2004, the school relocated to its current site in Punggol.
Although Guan Yin is the main deity at the Leong San Temple, other minor deities here include Mazu, Justice Bao, Cheng Wang Ye, Monkey King, Sixty Tai Sui, Sun God, God of Medicine, and many others.
Leong San Temple is located at 371 Race Course Road in Singapore. It is open to the public from 7:30am to 5pm daily.
Do You Have a Question to Ask?